Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Smith Library: Research Project Resources

Resources for the WCUI and Smith Chason Los Angeles, Ontario and Phoenix campuses.

Important Documents

Additional Presentation Resources:Presentation - Free of Charge Creative Commons Handwriting image
Presentation Tools, Tips and Techniques
- 8 Key Points for Perfect Presentation Practice
- Tips and Best Practices for Presenting Online

BEFORE YOU SUBMIT, RUN YOUR PAPERS THROUGH:
1 - Grammarly.com (free subscription available)
2 - Tutor.com or Brainfuse (real-time, proofreading tutor sessions available through your public library account which is accessible via a free e-card - see Other Library Databases below for more information).

GeneralResearch - Free of Charge Creative Commons Handwriting image

  • Pick a topic that you feel passionate about - this will drive your desire to want to learn more about it.
  • All resources used must be within the last five years so your research is recent.
  • Check 'Peer-Reviewed' - these articles have been reviewed by other experts in the field.

                                                  Articles  |  Books  |  Websites  |  Other Library Databases

For research support, contact your librarian at librarian@wcui.edu

Other Library Databases

Other Library Databases - Get online access 24/7 with a library card:  

The Southern California Library Cooperative includes Beverly Hills, Burbank, Glendale, Santa Monica and pretty much every public library system in LA proper (each of the library systems requires a separate cards).Database - Free of Charge Creative Commons Notepad 1 image

Los Angeles
- After getting a Los Angeles Public Library card, you can access Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health or Health and Medicine at https://www.lapl.org/collections-resources/research-and-homework
- After getting a library card from the Los Angeles County Public Library (86 branches), go to: https://lacountylibrary.org/database/.

Ontario
Get for a library card in person from the City of Ontario Library, you can access ProQuest at https://www.ontarioca.gov/LibraryResources.
- City of San Bernardino (Four branches), visit http://www.sbcity.org/cityhall/library/information_resources/information_databases.asp

Phoenix
- After getting a library card from Phoneix Public Library, go to https://www.phoenixpubliclibrary.org/browse/learning-research/a-to-z.
- Get a library card from Maricopa County District Library and go to https://my.nicheacademy.com/mcldaz to access to Academic OneFile.
- After getting a library card from Chandler Public Library, go to at https://www.chandlerlibrary.org/a-z-list-of-databases.html

[back to top of Student Research Projects section]

Internet Research Process

  • Look at the author's credentials for legitimacy of the source (usually under About Us). Can you verify information from other resources or a government site?
  •  What is the copyright date? (scroll to the bottom of the page and look for the date next to the © symbol)
  • Is the depth and breadth of the information coverage adequate?
  • How biased is the information?
  • Sensible decisions are grounded in fact and not influenced by fear, unrelated beliefs, unwarranted enthusiasm, or knee-jerk emotional reactions (Hoffman & LaBonte, 2012).
  • Look for: Currency, Reliability, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose (CSUC Method)
  • Integrating Credible Sources in College Writing: Summary, synthesis, and analysis of sources, with easy-to-follow examples that compare and contrast these three styles of writing (BYU).

Articles from Journals (67)

Journals look like magazines. They are also called periodicals because they are published 'periodically' :

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Books/E-Books (26)

Use your textbook - it counts as a resource and you have the most current edition published.

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Finding Relevant Material

Websites (91)

Support your topic with associated statistics: age, race, rural/urban, household size, income, education, etc. (available at Census.gov):

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z